will.i.am, Songs About Girls

CD Review

Songs About Girls is derivative, repetitive, insipid, insincere and pandering. Oh, and if that weren't enough, it also has the worst insert booklet in recent memory: seven pages of will.i.am mugging in a checkered suit. Actually, the first song, "Over," a lover's lament featuring a sample from Electric Light Orchestra (never a bad thing), isn't terrible. But with first single "I Got It from My Mama," will's ship crashes directly into the iceberg. It's an almost note-for-note ripoff of "My Humps," which means the millennium has a new worst single. On "The Donque Song," Snoop regurgitates some of his Doggystyle rhymes over a techno beat, and then, on "One More Chance," will vomits up this gem: "I know you want more than a dick in ya, you want a good nigga to stick with ya." Elsewhere, "Fantastic" contains yet another sample of the Jackson 5's "I Want You Back," and "S.O.S" (are we done yet?) is an anti-global-warming power ballad, which is hard to get too upset about. Perhaps the culture that produced this album deserves its fate.

My Voice Nation Help
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Concert Calendar

  • April
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
Houston Event Tickets