Top

music

Stories

 

Summer Stock

Brian Courtney Wilson, Just Love: Slow jams for Jesus. Signed to the gospel wing of the House That Beyoncé Built, Houston's Music World Entertainment, Wilson gives inspirational music a decidedly contemporary R&B gloss. Most of the songs on Just Love are reflective ballads similar to Maxwell or Avant — or Luther, for you older listeners — but "No Other" injects some hip-hop bounce that should get worshippers on their feet.

Johnny Winter, The Johnny Winter Anthology: Beaumont-born guitar slinger Johnny Winter was always more of a straight bluesman than hard-­rocking "Frankenstein" brother Edgar, and this hefty but flawed Shout! Factory anthology (one of many released this decade) makes that abundantly clear. Missing are the more acoustic musings from early Winter albums like 1969's Second Winter, as well as anything from the three superb records he produced for and played with Muddy Waters on. What is here, though, especially the live stuff — "Good Morning Little School Girl," "Hideaway," a medley of early rock and roll hits — positively smokes.

HOTLINKS

Where to find these artists on the Web:

Buxton: www.myspace.com/buxtonband

DJ Lion-O & the Naked Troubadors:

www.myspace.com/djliono

Electric Attitude: www.myspace.com/electricattitude

Robert Glasper: www.robertglasper.com

Chase Hamblin: www.chasehamblin.com

Hell City Kings: www.myspace.com/hellcitykings

Smoking Spore: www.smokingspore.com

Springfield Riots: www.myspace.com/springfieldriot

Thee Armada: www.myspace.com/theearmadamusic

The Tontons: www.thetontons.com

Brian Courtney Wilson: www.myspace.com/brianwilsonmusic

Johnny Winter: www.johnnywinter.net

The Tontons play 1:10 p.m. Saturday, August 8, on the Summer Fest stage at Free Press Houston's Summer Fest in Eleanor Tinsley Park, 1800 Allen Parkway. Chase Hamblin plays 12:35 p.m. Sunday, August 9, on Summer Fest's Free Press Houston stage, and Buxton plays 4:20 p.m. on the Summer Fest stage. See www.pegstar.net or www.freepresshouston.com for ticket information.

chris.gray@houstonpress.com

« Previous Page
 |
 
1
 
2
 
All
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Houston Concert Tickets

Concert Calendar

  • September
  • Fri
    19
  • Sat
    20
  • Sun
    21
  • Mon
    22
  • Tue
    23
  • Wed
    24
  • Thu
    25

Find Any Show in Town

Loading...