René Saldaña Jr.: The Case of the Pen Gone Missing, A Mickey Rangel Mystery

A Latino author creates an updated boy detective

Children's author René Saldaña Jr. has added a new character to his writings - Mickey Rangel. A Hispanic kid with lots of curiosity and courage, Rangel is a boy detective in the tradition of The Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and, more recently, Veronica Mars. But Rangel has all the contemporary toys that the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew were lacking, like the Internet, cell phones and other gadgets that could come in handy in a pinch. Saldaña will read from and discuss the first in a series of books starring the young investigator, The Case of the Pen Gone Missing, A Mickey Rangel Mystery today. After the reading, Saldaña will participate in an onstage interview with Houston's own mystery guru David Thompson. 3 p.m. Talento Bilingüe de Houston, 333 South Jensen. For information, call 713-521-2026 or visit www.inprinthouston.org. Free.
Sun., June 27, 3 p.m., 2010

 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Houston Concert Tickets
Loading...