Houston Symphony: Leila Josefowicz Plus Brahms’s First

Think all classical music was written by a bunch of dead Europeans with names like Mozart and Bach? Meet John Adams. The Pulitzer Prize winner is not only living but American. His 1993 Violin Concerto is the centerpiece to today’s Houston Symphony’s Leila Josefowicz Plus Brahms’s First concert. The program begins with conductor Thomas Dausgaard taking the orchestra through their paces with Brahms’s First. They’re joined by guest artist violinist Leila Josefowicz for Adams’s concerto for the second half. 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, 2:30 p.m. Sunday. Jones Hall, 615 Louisiana. For information, call 713-224-7575 or visit www.houstonsymphony.org. $31 to $107.
April 17-19, 2009

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >