Houston Symphony presents Debussy’s La Mer

The Houston Symphony goes underseas with a performance of Debussy’s La Mer. This 1905 composition, one of Debussy's most famous symphonic works, explores the depths of the ocean with subtle harmonies that create tonal colors representing the wind, waves and vast sea. He called this piece ''Three symphonic sketches for orchestra'' rather than an outright symphony. Listen for Debussy's unique use of sounds that evoke the moving water and rushing waves.

The schedule also includes three concerto performances with Swiss pianist Ariane Haering and Austrian violinist Benjamin Schmid. The program begins with Haering's performance of Mendelssohn's Capriccio Brillante for piano and orchestra and continues with Schmid's rendition of Paganini's Violin Concerto in D Major, arranged by violin master Fritz Kreisler. The two soloists come together for Mendelssohn's Concerto for Violin, Piano, and String Orchestra before La Mer closes the concert.

8 p.m. Thursday and Saturday, 2:30 p.m. Sunday. Jones Hall for the Performing Arts, 615 Louisiana. For information, call 713-224-7575 or visit houstonsymphony.org. $29 to $116.
Thu., April 11, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 13, 8 p.m.; Sun., April 14, 2:30 p.m., 2013


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >