Ian Rankin: Standing in Another Man's Grave

It's been 25 years since readers were introduced to Ian Rankin's John Rebus, a Scottish detective inspector with his own way of doing things. The protagonist of 18 novels and more than a dozen short stories, Rebus was last seen in the 2007 release Exit Music. The novel ended with Rebus's retirement and was thought to have been the last of the series. Now he's back in Standing in Another Man's Grave and working cold cases as a civilian with the police force. After he stumbles onto the case of a teenage girl who's been missing for more than a decade, he discovers that several other girls have gone missing from the same area. Rebus thinks it might be the work of a serial killer. As a civilian, Rebus can't do much — or at least not officially. With an Ethics and Standards officer who's out to prove that Rebus is dirty hounding his every step, the former detective launches his own very unofficial investigation.
Wed., Jan. 30, 6:30 p.m., 2013

Use Current Location

Related Location

Murder by the Book

2342 Bissonnet
Houston, TX 77005



Popular Stories

Upcoming Events

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >