Miró Quartet

A long way from their 1995 origins at Oberlin Conservatory, and clutching a slew of national and international awards, the Miró Quartet lands at Rice University’s Shepherd School tonight with a transatlantic tour of string music. Named after the artist Joan Miró (and inspired in particular by her originality), the quartet consists of violinists Daniel Ching and Sandy Yamamoto, violist John Largess, and cellist Joshua Gindele. They’ll open with Beethoven’s String Quartet in C Minor -- thought by many to most fully demonstrate the composer’s utter mastery of the string quartet -- and then they’ll jump ahead a century to the first string quartet of American composer Charles Ives, an austere piece called “A Revival Service.” Antonin Dvorák’s “American,” which the Czech composer wrote while living briefly in Iowa, ends the evening in the heartland.
Tue., Oct. 9, 8 p.m., 2007

Popular Stories

Upcoming Events

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >