The Bad Batch

Photo courtesy of Neon

Details

Thu., June 22, 7 & 10:10 p.m., Fri., June 23, 1:05, 4:10, 7:20 & 10:45 p.m., Sat., June 24, 1:40, 7:15 & 10:35 p.m., Sun., June 25, 10:20 a.m., 7:30 & 10 p.m., Mon., June 26, 3:50 & 10:35 p.m., Tue., June 27, 3:20 & 10:45 p.m., Wed., June 28, 10:50 p.m., Thu., June 29, 10:05 p.m., Fri., June 30, 4 p.m., Sat., July 1, 4 p.m. and Sun., July 2, 9:20 p.m. 2017
$5.41 to $11.37
Ana Lily Amirpour’s comic post-apocalyptic action-drama offers little explanation of what exactly its “bad batch” is, or how the members of its motley, unfortunate tribe of humans wound up banished to a desert wasteland. Instead, Amirpour lets her camera linger on a sign warning that everything beyond a 10-foot-high metal fence is no longer the concern of the United States, while Arlen (Suki Waterhouse), a young woman in watermelon-print short-shorts, gazes at a note that some prison guards have gifted her. “Find Comfort,” it says. But nothing in this harsh terrain even remotely suggests comfortable. Amirpour’s instinct is to let her scenes speak for themselves. The Bad Batch needs no lengthy setup because its premise is already vivid in our collective imaginations — it’s the waking nightmare of what America could become, a worst-case scenario in which all the president’s promises have been fulfilled, and undesirables are banished to godforsaken places ravaged by climate change and climbing temperatures. Somehow, Amirpour’s film is also funny.
View All

More Events @ Alamo Drafthouse Cinema - Mason

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >