Got 7-Year-Olds Less Than 4-Foot-9? Better Put Them In A Booster Seat
Cleaner than DPS' initial motto attempt, "You're Either Buckled Up or You're Fuckled Up"
Thanks to a new Texas law, children who are under eight and less than 4-foot-9 have to be in a booster seat.
Now, it can be a "low-back" seat, meant mostly to help with seatbelt positioning, but come on -- your second-grader is going to submit to a booster seat? Not unless today's kids are very,very different than they were, say, 10 years ago.
Johnny ain't getting picked up at school and sitting in no booster seat in front of all his pals.
Rice Owls Mens Basketball vs. St. Thomas University Men's Basketball
TicketsWed., Dec. 21, 7:00pm
Advocare V100 Texas Bowl
TicketsWed., Dec. 28, 8:00pm
Rice Owls Mens Basketball vs. Middle Tennessee State Univ Blue Raiders Mens Basketball
TicketsThu., Jan. 5, 7:00pm
PRCA XTreme Bulls
TicketsFri., Jan. 6, 7:30pm
But it is the law, a TxDOT spokesman tells Hair Balls.
"[T]ransportation officials say state laws enacted in 2009 could result in more citations this year if drivers and passengers fail to heed new safety belt requirements," he said.
Also new this time around -- adults in the back seat have to be wearing seat belts. Fines range from $25 to $250 plus court costs, DPS says. (The agency also helfully notes that Unbelted backseat passengers can become projectiles in a car crash, and if tossed around inside the vehicle, they can injure or even kill those in the front seat.") Those ride-grubbing backseat bastards!!
The big announcement of the new campaign comes tomorrow, and the actual dates where you have to be sure you're buckled are around Memorial Day: May 24-June 6.
Your rebellious seven-year-old is just going to have to suffer for a while.
Get the ICYMI: Today's Top Stories Newsletter
Catch up on the day's news and stay informed with our daily digest of the most popular news, music, food and arts stories in Houston, delivered to your inbox Monday through Friday.