Da Camera presents Weinberg and Mendelssohn

Da Camera presents Weinberg and Mendelssohn

Courtesy of the artist Brentano Quartet

Da Camera of Houston concludes its 2018–19 season with its unifying finale, “Weinberg and Mendelssohn” featuring the Daedalus Quartet in their Da Camera debut, along with the Brentano Quartet and Sarah Rothenberg, piano. The concert unites works by two composers, born more than a century apart, who represent the complex story of Jews throughout Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries: Mieczys?aw Weinberg’s Piano Quintet, a dark and tragic composition that, in five movements, seems to encapsulate the Polish-Russian composer’s life story; and, in contrast, Felix Mendelssohn’s Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20, which exudes a hopeful vision of the future. [Organizer's description]
View All

More Events @ Cullen Theater at Wortham Theater Center

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >