Introducing Break Dem Boyz Off, Only Five Years After They Should've Been Introduced

Keep Houston Press Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Houston and help keep the future of Houston Press free.

The video above, that's by Break Dem Boyz Off, an enjoyable fescennine rap conglomerate that's somehow been functioning since 2006. Members include DJ Young Samm (the figurehead, it appears), Hoodstar Chantz, King Rashee, Lil Boom, II D.E.E.P, K.Carter, Rob Smallz (R&B) and Tiaramy (R&B).

They released a new album earlier this week. It's called Break Dem Boyz Off Compilation. A proper review will be run soon here, but a bit of tidying up first:

Since the group is a multitude, and since we've really only ever written about one of their members (the endlessly hoodstarian Hoodstar Chantz), and since rappers have names that make reading about a bunch of new ones all at once feel like you're just reading a bunch of fake words, it seemed a prep course was in order.

So, four videos from the team, each highlighting a different person (those not listed here have new music pending).

King Rashee's "Cool Nights," featuring Leo Solomon

How DJ Young Samm Describes Him In One Word: Reserved

Hoodstar Chantz's "Stacking Up"

How DJ Young Samm Describes Him In One Word: Dynamo

Lil Boom's "Hate on Me"

How DJ Young Samm Describes Him In One Word: Hustler

Tiaramy's "PSA"

How DJ Young Samm Describes Her In One Word: Energetic

If you'd like to remain getting broken off, you may do so at www.djyoungsamm.com/p/break-dem-boyz-off-ent.html.

Keep the Houston Press Free... Since we started the Houston Press, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Houston, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Houston with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Press community and help support independent local journalism in Houston.


Join the Press community and help support independent local journalism in Houston.