New Dio Box Set Makes Fans Stand Up and Shout

Keep Houston Press Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Houston and help keep the future of Houston Press free.

By 1983, Ronnie James Dio had served terms (albeit brief) as front man for two of the biggest hard rock and metal acts of the era: Rainbow and Black Sabbath. Perhaps tired of sharing a band vision with strong-willed guitarists (we’re talking to you, Ritchie Blackmore and Tony Iommi), he embarked on a solo career, starting a group he naming after himself. His first six releases under that moniker are collected in the new box set A Decade of Dio: 1983-1993 (Rhino). And while, technically, the release dates span just a bit longer ("11 Years of Dio" just doesn't have the same ring to it), the prime of his solo career is worth a second look. And longtime Dio artist Marc Sasso even created a new work featuring band mascot Murray/Muralsee for the cover!

Dio’s first solo effort brings together the lineup of ex-Sabbath bandmate Vinny Appice (drums), Jimmy Bain (bass/keyboards) and Vivian Campbell (guitar). Opener “Stand Up and Shout” makes a firm, screaming statement of the band’s arrival and became an anthem. The album also features canon fodder like the title track, “Straight Through the Heart” and “Rainbow In the Dark.” The last tune’s memorable stinging keyboards, and a video that was in constant early MTV rotation, made it Dio’s most recognizable tune. “Caught In the Middle” is a lost gem, while “Invisible” is borderline balladry pablum. Dio is not yet into their heavy sword-and-sorcery lyrical phase, but introduces the lyrical theme of asking listeners to look at themselves and their actions.

For me, this is Dio’s masterpiece. The songs have a heft Holy Diver sometimes lacked, and gave us two of the group’s most expansive epic songs, on a favorite theme of the oppressed (the title track and “Egypt [The Chains are On].” It also features some of Campbell’s best solos; Appice’s drums are thunderous, without the sometimes tinny sound heard on Holy Diver. It’s also boasts a couple of underrated deeper tracks — “I Speed at Night” and “Evil Eyes” — both perfect for atmospheric high-speed drives or roller-coaster soundtracks. It also features the addition of Claude Schnell on keyboards to the lineup. And while Dio frequently chose record opener “We Rock” to actually close his shows, it’s a bit too self-referential and simplistic.

Dio drops his mystical crystal ball on this half-hearted effort. He rarely strays from his favorite themes of the Power of Rock (and rockers…and rock music…and people who rock), Medieval storybook lovers and wily women. But it all seems tepid.  Only “Hungry for Heaven” (with its echoes of the Who’s “Baba O’Riley”) and “Just Another Day” pack any punch. The album is probably best known for contributing “Rock ‘N’ Roll Children” and the title track to the Dio canon, but it’s faint praise.

An underrated effort. For while it contained Dio’s most clear stab at a Top 40 hit in the halcyon days of hair metal (“I Could Have Been a Dreamer”), there’s a lot of good stuff here. “Night People,” “Sunset Superman” and “When a Woman Cries” are forces of sonic nature, while the title track plumbs the nightmarish theme of the record. It also contains Dio’s best epic ballad in “All the Fools Sailed Away,” sung in his softer tone. There are a couple of clunkers, though (“Overlove,” “Faces in the Window”). Throughout, Dio sings with confidence, and the rhythm section of Jimmy Bain and Vinny Appice shines throughout.

By this effort, the entire original Dio backing band had dissipated, and now included 18-year-old guitarist Rowan Robertson and former AC/DC drummer Simon Wright. But overall this is a lackluster effort, the weakest of the box set.  The tempos are slowed way down, and the blueprint is generic hard rock; Dio’s lyrics and melodies are short on creativity and inspiration. Only the title track, opener “Wild One,” and “Walk on Water” show some of the fire of yore.

Another completely new band is on board for this one, including ex-Dokken bassist Jeff Pilson, guitarist Tracy G. and the return of drummer Vinny Appice. It’s also the first album since Dio’s short-lived return as the front man for Black Sabbath and their 1992 reunion effort Dehumanizer. It’s a return to better days and the classic Dio sound with the chaotic “Firebrand” and ultra-heavy title track. Things sound re-energized for sure, and there’s a grit and menace to Dio’s voice, as in “Evilution” and “Bring Down the Rain.” And his tune decrying child abuse — “Give Her the Gun” — is deep and powerful. 

Keep the Houston Press Free... Since we started the Houston Press, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Houston, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Houston with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Press community and help support independent local journalism in Houston.


Join the Press community and help support independent local journalism in Houston.