Texas Nominees for the Blues Music Awards

Nominee Marcia Ball

Ten Texans snagged nominations for the Blues Foundation's Blues Music Awards. They are:

Contemporary Blues Female Artist of the Year Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year Marcia Ball

Instrumentalist-Horn Calvin Owens

Instrumentalist-Other Sonny Rhodes - Steel Guitar

Soul Blues Album of the Year Frankie Lee - Standing at the Crossroads Calvin Owens Blues Orchestra - I Ain't Gonna Be Your Dog No More

Soul Blues Male Artist of the Year Frankie Lee

Traditional Blues Album of the Year Last Of The Great Mississippi Delta Bluesmen - Live in Dallas (produced by The Blue Shoe Project, Dallas)

Traditional Blues Female Artist of the Year Diunna Greenleaf

The awards will be presented on Thursday, May 10, in Memphis, TN. XM Satellite Radio will broadcast the Blues Music Awards on the Bluesville program, (on channel 74). The Blues Foundation's 2006 Blues Music Awards will also be aired on Viacom's BET J Network.

Click here for a full list of nominees on Blues Foundation's news page.

Click here for more info on the Blues Music Awards.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >