The 2009 Houston Press Music Award Winners

Best Local CD/LP: Bun B, UGK for Life Best Local EP/7-inch: Wild Moccasins, Microscopic Metronomes Best Local Song: Mechanical Boy, "She Does" Best New Act: Roky Moon & BOLT Songwriter: B L A C K I E Local Musician of the Year: Little Joe Washington Best Guitarist: Little Joe Washington

Best Bassist: Chris Applegate, Mechanical Boy

Best Drummer: Nick Cooper, Free Radicals

Best Keyboards: Ryan Scroggins, Ryan Scroggins & the Trenchtown Texans

Best Miscellaneous Instrument: Geoffrey Muller, Sideshow Tramps (saw)

Best Male Vocals: Cornbreadd, Tha Fucking Transmissions

Best Female Vocals: Kristine Mills

Rock: Mechanical Boy

Blues: Little Joe Washington

R&B/Funk/Soul: Kam

Zydeco: Zydeco Dots

World: D.R.U.M.

Jazz: Free Radicals

DJ: DJ Sun

DJ Night: Speakerboxx

Metal: Golden Axe

Punk: Flamin' Hellcats

Hardcore/Noise (tie):Homopolice/ A Dream Asleep

Indie Rock: Spain Colored Orange

Instrumental/Experimental: Two Star Symphony

Mainstream Hip-Hop: Bun B/UGK

Underground Hip-Hop: Fat Tony

Latin Traditional: Los Pistoleros de Tejas

Latin Contemporary: Los Skarnales

Cover/Tribute Band: Beetle

Country: Sean Reefer & the Resin Valley Boys

Folk: Flying Fish Sailors

Roots-Rock/Americana: Sideshow Tramps

Best New Club: Mango's

Best Live Music Venue: Warehouse Live

Best Record Store: Cactus

Best Instrument/Equipment Store: Rockin' Robin

Best Radio Station: 90.1 KPFT

Best Radio Program (Music): Lost Fidelity, KACC

Best Local Label: Swishahouse

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >