ZZ Top To Receive Texas Medal Of Arts

While they take their sweet time getting around to record that long-anticipated, Rick Rubin-produced next album - which, at this point, could well come out a solid decade after their last, 2003's Mescalero - ZZ Top has been announced as one of the recipients of the 2011 Texas Medal of Arts.

The awards will be presented by Gov. Rick Perry at the Texas Cultural Trust's annual gala Tuesday, March 1, at Austin's Long Center for the Performing Arts. Other 2011 winners include Houston's Alley Theater, longtime CBS news anchor and reporter Bob Schieffer, actors Bill Paxton and Marcia Gay Harden, and Asleep at the Wheel front man Ray Benson. See txculturaltrust.org/tmaa for more information.

Willie Nelson, Lyle Lovett, Van Cliburn, Clint Black, and Austin City Limits are a few previous musical TMA recipients, so ZZ Top - who celebrated the 41st anniversary of their first show as ZZ Top last week - is in good company.

Congratulations, guys. Now how-how-how-how about that album?

Follow Rocks Off on Facebook and on Twitter at @HPRocksOff.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >